Introduction to 3D Modelling

In the introduction to 3D modelling I began to learn how to use Cinema 4D. My first task was to create a space ship.

I began with selecting to use a Cube and after making it “Editable” with the button on the left side of the screen, go into the properties, click on “Object” and start stretching out the size of the XYZ variables.

Screen Shot 2015-09-14 at 09.37.26

One I’ve got the right starting shape I click on “Display” for its sub-menu and select “Gouraud Shading (Lines.)” Then I got back to the Object properties and start to increase the volume of “Segments” for the XYZ values.

Screen Shot 2015-09-14 at 09.38.15

This allows me to edit every section individually and make finer detail changes on the rectangles overall shape.

I then go to “Quad-View” to see all sides of my object and start to create my space ship by selecting all the individual Faces on the front of the rectangle, with the Shift button. Once all the Faces have been selected I use the Scale Tool to pinch in the ends.

Screen Shot 2015-09-14 at 09.50.15

I repeat the process at the back of the ship, only this time, dragging the selected Faces inwards to create a tail of sorts.

Screen Shot 2015-09-14 at 09.56.54

Then all I need is wings. I do this by – again – selecting multiple Faces with Shift on the ships sides, and start to drag the side out, to roughly the shape I want.

Screen Shot 2015-09-14 at 09.57.45          Screen Shot 2015-09-14 at 10.01.18

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

