Report: Software Techniques Used – Proofread

To make my 3D environments for my game (to read more about that, click here) I have been using CINEMA 4D to model everything that will appear in-game for scenery.

“Wolcen” Wide Vew Of My 3D Environment.
“Wolcen” Wide Vew Of My 3D Environment.

However, for my character designs and 2D art which will be featured inside the game, I will be using SketchBookExpress as it allows for better control and has more specific tools for art.

Screen Shot 2015-11-18 at 9.51.43 pm
My Protagonist’s Character Design.

Main Functions And Capabilities That I’m Using For Software


(CINEMA 4D.)

In CINEMA 4D there are a variety of Shapes that can be made editable to model.

CINEMA 4D Shape Object Examples.
CINEMA 4D Shape Object Examples.

The user can change the view point go the screens to help edit the object being worked on, with the Quad-view which allows for four different side views on the.

CINEMA 4D's Quad-View
CINEMA 4D’s Quad-View

There are a few toolbars as there are so many features which allows for the object, environment and Render to be edited.

Screen Shot 2015-11-18 at 14.33.08
CINEMA 4D’S Side Toolbar.
In CINEMA 4D there are also multiple property menus which affect anything form the amount of polygons, to the width of a Spline.
Screen Shot 2015-11-18 at 14.32.06
Object Properties Menu.

Using some of the most common techniques in practice:
Sphere Made Editable.
Sphere Made Editable.
Screen Shot 2015-11-18 at 14.36.38
Polygons Live Selected.
Screen Shot 2015-11-18 at 14.38.06
Polygons Extruded.
Spheres Put Into A Cloner To Multiple.
Spheres In A Cloner To Multiply.
The Sphere In The Cloner Is Put Into Random.
The Sphere In The Cloner In Random.
A Spline Drawn On The Alpha Line.
A Spline Drawn On The Alpha Line.
Drop The Spline and Circle Into A Sweep.
The Spline and Circle Into A Sweep.
The Spline With Changed Object Proprieties.
The Spline With Changed Object Proprieties.
Screen Shot 2015-11-18 at 15.25.46
Content Browser for Textures And Materials.
Screen Shot 2015-11-18 at 15.28.24
Material Editor.
Screen Shot 2015-11-18 at 15.51.30
Importing An Image For A Texture.
Screen Shot 2015-11-18 at 16.03.16
An Enabled Physical Sky.
Screen Shot 2015-11-18 at 16.05.00
Render Settings Menu.

"Sketch And Toon" Rendered Object.
“Sketch And Toon” Rendered Object.
Screen Shot 2015-11-18 at 16.08.12
Cel-Rendered Object.

(SketchBookExpress)

SketchBookExpress has a lot of tools for an otherwise blank canvas, mainly centring around three main toolbars.

Screen Shot 2015-11-18 at 11.08.12 pm
SketchBookExpress’ Toolbar.
SketchBookExpress’ Tools.
SketchBookExpress’ Tools.
SketchBookExpress’ Side Toolbar.
SketchBookExpress’ Side Toolbar.

Using some of the most common tools in practice:

My Game's “Healer” Unit with Pencil Tool.
My Game’s “Healer” Unit with Pencil Tool.
My Game’s “Healer” With The Pen Tool.
My Game’s “Healer” With The Pen Tool.
My Game’s “Healer” Unit With The Paint Tool.
My Game’s “Healer” Unit With The Paint Tool.
Screen Shot 2015-11-19 at 12.38.15 am
My Game’s “Healer” Unit With The Smear Tool.

Why I Chose This Software.


(CINEMA  4D)

I use CINEMA 4D for my 3D environment as it has a clear interface and is one of the easier 3D modelling softwares to use in the industry, with its uncluttered menus.

(SketchBookExpress)

I use SketchBookExpress for my artwork as it has a good choice of tools, layers is enabled and the user can save in mulitple file types which is good when using a number of softwares.


CINEMA 4D’S Strength.


For me, as a beginner to 3D modelling, one of CINEMA 4D’s strengths is that it is quite easy to pick up once the basics is learnt; has multiple tools; Render options; and are able to animate.


And Its Weakness.


CINEMA 4D can be quite complicated and the user needs to be able to think methodically in order to use the software successfully, as there is a process in order to use it.


How CINEMA 4D Compares To Other Programs Available.


Like I have said previously, unlike Blender it isn’t as complicated and despite the support network there is for it, the software has a very cluttered interface and is difficult to navigate.

AutodeskMaya is better for character creation while CINEMA 4D would be far more proficient in building 3D environments.


Possible Export Options.


Screen Shot 2015-11-19 at 1.09.27 am
CINEMA 4D Screenshot of Sub-Menu Export Options.
Some examples of export options are: 3D Studio, CINEMA 4D XML and Illustrator.

Evaluation Success in the software.


In getting used to CINEMA 4D I had to take a lot of notes, reread them and do a lot of research to even Extrude a Cube. Now, I’ve gotten used to the software but I still go through a long process in order to create.

My environment, even though its not finished and have improved with CINEMA 4D, has gone through three rough stages.

Screen Shot 2015-10-07 at 15.49.57
Mountain Practice (Textured and Rendered.)

Knowing roughly what I wanted my environment to look like, I practiced with the Landscape Object.

Screen Shot 2015-09-29 at 15.48.28
First Version Of My Sky Island (Untextured).

My first real attempt. I used a Cube and the Extrude Tool however there were too many Polygons and the shape was wrong.

Screen Shot 2015-10-07 at 12.34.52
Second Version Of Sky Island (No Textures).

I tried again with the Cone Object however this time there weren’t enough Polygons and it was impossible to edit.

Third Version – “Wolcen” (Nearly Fully Textured and Rendered).
Third Version – “Wolcen” (Nearly Fully Textured and Rendered).

My most recent version of my island I’m quite happy with: it has become very layered, is better designed – more like what I had originally sketched, despite the changes I have made since then.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. lasouthdevon says:

    This is well written, constructed and researched and you have provided evidence of sourcing your information from a range of media. Well done. A couple of minor points to note: Firstly you have used the word ‘gotten’ which is an American rather than a British term; you could say ‘having developed my skill’ for example. Secondly you started another sentence ‘like I said earlier’ which could be reworded to ‘as mentioned (or discussed) earlier’. Although minor points checking your use of language will raise you writing to a level reflected in your ability and the general tone of the work produced. Good work! (Lynne)

    Like

    1. With the word limit I couldn’t afford to be so wordy with my sentences. I had more to say and despite being technically informal, it was probably the best I could do.

      On your second point, “mentioned” is obviously better than “said” as it is a written report.

      Given the chance I will go back and reread my essay so it truly reflects my ability. I wouldn’t want my tone marking down my produced work – that would be truly unfortunate.

      Thank you for the feedback.
      Yasmin

      Like

Leave a Reply

