Research Types For The Media Industry

In this task, I will be exploring research and how I will use it in this module.

Types of Research

“Quantitative” and “Qualitative” refer to types of research in the media industry, which are used to gather information.

Quantitative

Quantitative research is based around measured facts and information; it is generally used for an average score of opinion, so results are visually clear, quickly as it doesn’t take long to record or process.

For example;

  • Surveys
  • Questionnaires

Quantitative research also has its disadvantages as the one downside to surveys is that it’s way of gathering of information if very objective to the reader, making it less accurate. Typically, in surveys its numerical or categorical, as seen below.

Screen Shot 2016-06-17 at 20.34.57
An Example Of A Numerical Survey
Screen Shot 2016-06-17 at 20.41.34
An Example Of A Categorical Survey

It isn’t time consuming and wouldn’t take a lot of effort to fill out but those words and numbers can mean different things to different people, and if you were gathering customer feedback or some such, it would not be very informative because it wouldn’t tell you why people gave a bad score – or even a good score, in order to change or maintain something.

Reviews will often rely on the user signing a numerical value, especially for movies with websites like RottenTomatoes, metacritic IMDb that revolves around giving movies/ television a score. Searching up “The Oogieloves in the Big Balloon Adventure (2012)” and it has a very visible 85.3% “10” rating while in actuality, it has been nominated for two Razzie awards, including: Worst Picture and Worst Screen Ensemble and yet, despite this, it is largely rated a 10/10.

Given this, I don’t feel I would use surveys  for anything but common questions for collecting information for my trailer. Such as:

  • Gender
  • Age
  • Preferred genre

But I wouldn’t use quantitative information for anything that wasn’t easy to assign a factual value to. Questionnaires, however, I would try to make it less closed-ended and put in a text box for actual feedback, as shown below.

Screen Shot 2016-06-17 at 21.29.12.png

Qualitative 

Qualitative research is based around opinions and preferences, like launching a new product or trying to fix an old one. It is useful for the review’s thoughts while being easy to interpret. Its usually the most accurate type of research as it comes straight from the source.

For example:

  • Focus groups
  • Interviews/ audiotapes

Focus groups are used in order to gather information on the product/ service a company wants to offer, consisting of people of the correct demographic. While interviews or audiotapes are usually from professionals/ experts or – again – the correct demographic.

To make my trailer, I probably will have a focus group (which could just be friends as they are the correct age for my intended game). As for interviews/ audiotapes, I am less likely to research if only because that will be very time consuming.


Methods of Research

“Primary” and “Secondary” refers to research methods which have been divided into two categories.

Primary

Primary research is “new” research for specific or questions that has been gotten straight from the source, for example:

  • Questionnaires
  • Surveys
  • Interviews

For this trailer I will be conducting my own research (with the correct demographic), mostly questionnaires and maybe a focus group. As I have covered above, there are pros and cons to using these methods, however I will cover the criteria and do what I can.

Some of the advantages to primary is that the results are personal to each reviewer. I can ask relevant questions: instead of research from the internet or a library (secondary), I can make questionnaires and the like for the correct demographic and make it relevant to the product I am working on.

Similarly, one of the disadvantage is that this is also subjective and bias’ could affect my overall results. For example, Nintendo is a “family company” and therefore isn’t typically used by hardcore gamers; usually losing to its competition to Xbox or Playstation. So, if I asked a specific question about Fire Emblem – a Nintendo title – the results could be negative (even if they have never played the game before) due only to the association.

 

Secondary

Secondary research is preexisting research on information that someone else has already gathered. Including:

  • Reports
  • Libraries
  • Online

For this trailer I will also be researching pre-existing research to cover all other bases that the primary research will fall short. Typically, I use the internet for a wide variety of sources.

Advantages to this type of research is that it is instant and I will be able to “key-word” search for relevant information quickly, from a lot of sources that can be just as professional as some books.

Disadvantages is that finding the authenticity can be difficult if I didn’t reference and went onto more question websites for the information. However, this can be contended by simply knowing my way around the internet and cross-referencing to double check source facts, as well as not getting all my information from the same place.


Purposes of Research

Between audience research, market research and production research the terms are often confused. The differences is: audience refers to the consumer of the product, who is buying/ watching – the demographic. The market research is information on the   climent market and the competition – the business strategy. While production is to help with characteristics of the new product, focusing on the production – an overview of commercial viability.

The Audience

Doing audience research will help me know what content I will be able to include in the trailer; how violent or threatening it will be able to be. This will help in making the trailer and in knowing who I would need to market it to.

This will allow me to know what age rating to give the trailer and how explicit I’ll be able to make the trailer/ promotional material. It’ll also give an idea of who to market it to; where e.g. small screen, big screen, on the internet and then when, on what hour would be most appropriate.

For example, if I were to advertise on YouTube I would choose Lets Play, AMV and other game/ anime orientated channels to have the correct audience with similar interests for a Fire Emblem game.

The Market

Doing market research will help me with the overall look of the trailer by looking at other RPG trailers of similar branding, promotion material etc. This would help me make the trailer competitive.

This will all me to know about other games on the market that are of a similar look/ genre, to search out competition to see common themes that could be applied to my game.

The Production

Similarly to the above, I would use research of other trailers of games that resemble my chosen game to aid in the actual production.

This will allow me to get an idea as to what types of trailers are already out there; what they look like, who they are usually aimed at, so I will know what the industry standard is and if it is viable as a product.

In product you will need:

  • Marketing information
  • Equipment
  • Personal
  • Budget
  • Promotional material
  • Advertisement

References 

IMDb review

Leave a Reply

