Process of Graphic Narrative Project

The following is my progression of my progress of the creation of my graphic narrative. Starting from the front page all the way to the last.

FRONT PAGE

  • I started by opening a new page in Krita and choosing a pre-made template which is correct size for a manga page. It also helps to keep all the other pages the same size.
  • I then start a rough sketch of what I wanted the front page to look like.
  • I draw in pink to make it easier when it comes to to the inking stages.
  • I then begin to roughly flesh out the stickmen.
  • I start to add characteristics while using references images of the individuals so that I was consistent.
  • I use multiple colours to ensure I am able to see what layer I am drawing on and for what section.

*Each character and section of the body I am working on gets its own layer. This helps me avoid mistakes and enables me to properly edit.

  • I go onto a different software which I am better at using for line art and start to ink over the lines with black once I have put all previous, sketch layers into a folder and lowered opacity.
  • I continue to use references through this part to ensure I have all the correct details.
  • There are times when something is not in proportion or at an off angle but not all together wrong, when this happens, I use the Lasso Tool to select that particular area and then hit cmd+T to “Transform” and edit that section by either scale or angle or even moving it.
  • After I have done a majority of the line art I zoomed out and look at it to check or mistakes.
  • I notice that I have not drawn one of the character’s arms which should be in view. I go to a new later and using a different colour I sketch where it should be so I can ink it.
  • I add further detail by changing pose slight for two characters to have them holding hands. I do this by sketching it on a different layer, in another colour and with a reference.
  • I then go on to finish the gun I had been leaving out until that point. I look for reference images on Google and while making changes to the overall shape while sketch it, I go onto to ink it.
  • I finish other things like line weight, details and correcting any small mistakes like a messy line etc.
  • I then make the sketch layers invisible so that it is out of the way but there should I need it.
  • After line art, I begin to colour. I go from character to character.
  • I pull up the reference images from profile images I had made earlier so that the colours are consistent.
  • I begin with the base colours and use the Lasso Tool to help keep the colour in the lines. Doing this also saves a lot of time.
  • I then add tone (darker and lighter colours) for depth and lighting in new layers for body and sections.
  • I use the Gradient Tool, the Watercolour Brush and the Airbrush Tool to accomplish a lot of what I have done while also implementing the Lasso Tool.
  • I make a new layer and drag it to the bottom so it is underneath the others. I then fill it bright pink so I can see if I have gone over the lines any where or if there are places I need to fill.
  • There are; mostly white areas I hadn’t coloured.
  • I fill those areas in quite quickly so I won’t have to worry about the background coming through.
  • I then make that pink layer invisible
  • I then move from the foreground to behind and start to sketch.
  • I go onto ink it on different layers.
  • While colouring, because the tone ranges were quite light, I bring back the pink layer so I can better see what I am doing.
  • Once finished I save as a .psd after I have deleted the pink layer.
  • I go into Photoshop CC where I start experimenting with backgrounds. Firstly mostly shapes and gradients.
  • I don’t see anything that looks right.
  • I open up another software: Krita and try some brushes like the Sponge Texture Brush and the Bristle Texture Brush while keeping to black and white for an eerie look (and to also avoid any clashes of colour, since the characters all have a differing palette).
  • I am eventually satisfied after using multiple layers, playing with opacity and adding some background shading behind the characters.
  • I open the page back up in Photoshop CC and get rid of the background layer since it took up too much space, which I needed for the title.
  • I try a dew fronts until I find one I like.
  • I type the letters individually so I am able to arrange them how I want.
  • I also use a range of red so that each letter is distinct.
  • I also go onto add a number of the volume number and a border to finish off.
  • I Save As .png to keep as much resolution as possible.

Author Page

As I had chosen the manga art style, I decided to try and copy most of the codes and conventions that are found in one. Including the author page.

  • I open the same template I previously used in Krita, save as a .psd and then open it in FireAlpaca.
  • I use the Lasso Tool for a section of the page which I have plotted for the “avatar” (a typical trope on author pages) to stop be from going out of the lines.
  • I then draw a simplistic character to represent me as the author.
  • Moving onto Photoshop CC I  fill in the back with black.
  • I then write with white font what I typically see in a manga, keeping it short.

Page 1

  • Getting the page template from Krita and saving it as a .psd I open it in FireAlpaca and begin to sketch with pink on a new layer.
  • I flesh it the sketch out on another layer, in a different colour so I can see what I am doing while staying able to reference the rough outline.
  • I use references for this process so that the characters stay consistent.
  • Here I have started the line art. I use the Lasso Tool and references to aid me in this process.
  • I also use multiple layers for different characters, their body parts and panels.
  • After I have finished I add the line borders, using the Ruler Tool to help me in using a straight line.
  • I continue on other layers with smaller details, like hair strands.
  • I check for imperfections and line weight issues.
  • I then begin the colouring progress, character to character.
  • I begin with my base colour and then shade on another layer.
  • Once I feel like there is enough depth I add details like eye colour etc.
  • I continue with another character, with the same process.
  • Again, I use the same process only with a bit of deviation. For this character’s eyes and hair I darkened them through cmd+U.
  • Again, I use the same process as before.
  • On a new layer I begin to try to draw a background. After a few failed attempts I find a reference image to help me.
  • I use the Ruler Tool to help me draw the skyline.
  • I go onto colour and shade the background, using multiple layers and the Pen Tool and Gradient Fill to add some depth and a 3D perspective.
  • I then go back to Krita to use some of their more sophisticated brushes so that I can add better detail to the background.
  • I swapped back to FireAlpaca and use the Snap Vertex Tool to aid me in sharpening some of the lines and adding to line weight in the background, as I wanted it more prominent now that it was harder to see with the dark shades surrounding it.
  • I jump back to Krita to use another tool to further the background and I move back to FireAlpaca to clean the image up.
  • Afterwards I go into Photoshop CC to add text boxes. I use the Rectangle Tool with a white fill and a black border. (I record the line weight for the border so that, that is consistent.)
  • I add as many boxes as I need and change their shape until they look right/ and they are not blocking anything important.
  • I go onto pick a font that I think best fits the graphic narrative and fill in the boxes with Copy and Paste with something I wrote earlier in Bear.

PAGE 2

  • I begin by re-sketching the rough daft of the page.I do this on different layers for each panel and use different colours to aid me in saying separate parts of the image.
  • I also add a coloured layer so that the image does not have an alpha channel.
  • I pull all the sketch layers into a folder and lower the opacity of the folder so that the line art has better visibility to me when I start it.
  • On new layers I begin to ink over the sketch. I begin with The character in the foreground.
  • I continue to put all the separate layers of the line action a folder and create a new layer for the colour.
  • For the eyes I use the Pen tool. I also use a reference of the previous page so that it is consistent.
  • I go onto colour the uniform with the pen tool, the Select Tool to ensure I stay in the lines and the Gradient Tool for shading.
  • I go onto colour the next character with a similar process and on different layers.
  • I recreate the middle panel, redefining the body from how it was placed in the sketch.
  • I continue to use the above process for the following two panels.
  • I open the page in Krita and use the Sponge Brush to create the background for the last panel.
  • Ago back to FireAlpaca to clear the image up.
  • For the finishing touch, I go into Photoshop to add a shape coloured grey; a square with lowered opacity for the last two panels to add difference to the “flashback”.
  • I add a shape, a square. I colour it white and add a black border of ra text box.
  • On Bear, a note app, I begin to type out some text for the page.
  • I Copy and Paste the text from Bear into Photoshop and arrange the text onto the text box.
  • When all the text is written and in place, I save as a .png.

PAGE 3

  • I open Krita for the correct page size to ensure consistency.
  • I start with adding a border using the Snap Line and Pen Tool.
  • On new layer I start to sketch with different colours.
  • I do the line art with the Pen Tool on another layer.
  • When I colour I use the Pen Tool and the Watercolour Brush.

screen-shot-2017-01-16-at-12-06-54

  • I open Photoshop and use the shades and change the opacity to continue with the effect I had on the previous page.
  • I write out the text for this page on Bear.
  • I go onto add more square shapes with a white background and black border.
  • I Copy and Paste the Text and set it into the text boxes.
  • Then, when I’ve finished, I save as a .png.

Page 4

*I lost the process of page four but the last few steps. I’ve searched my files but can’t find them.

  • I began by sketching in colour the first layer.
  • Once thats finished I start the line art in black on a new layer with the Pen Tool.
  • On other layers I start to shade with various’ greys.
  • I then open up Krita to create the background. I use the Bristle Texture Brush and the splatter thin brush on separate laters.
  • I go back to FireAlpaca to clean the image up.
  • Afterwards, I write for the page in Bear.
  • I make a couple of text boxes. One through the shape tool with a white background and a black border. I duplicate it so there are two and Transform the pair to be the proper size.
  • I Copy and Paste the text and fix the text to the text box.
  • I then save as a .png.

Final Product

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

