Professional Development And Skills Maintenance

For this task I will be looking at where I currently am, my skill sets and how this will aid me in being a freelance animator.

My current skills in what I need to be an animator:

Screen Shot 2017-05-28 at 19.48.21.png

My map of my intended career path:

Screen Shot 2017-05-28 at 20.29.49

My capabilities for animation needs to widen and progress to get to a professional level, however I am confident I have a good foundation in order to improve for example, I have a good grasp on how to create stories, characters and worlds but I still need to improve and strengthen this which I can through learning by example; reading books and watching movies.

I have a decent understanding on a number of different art drawing programs, such as: Paint Tool Sai, FireAlpaca, Clip Studio Paint and Adobe Photoshop, but it would be to my detriment if I did not improve my skills so that I could get more proficient and faster.

I also never completed my course in animation; I only got as far as the principles of bounce and stretch and that is something I obviously need advancement in, as well as rigorous practice in order for me to be a successful animator. 

I should also study up on cinematography so that I will have a firm understanding of lighting, how to set a scene, camera movement as well as depth of field and filters, which can be critical when trying to make a storyboard, and aid me well into production.

These improvements though further education and self study will allow me to to start on my career path.

Screen Shot 2017-03-11 at 14.15.33

My capabilities for animation needs to widen and progress to get to a professional level, however I am confident I have a good foundation in order to improve for example, I have a good grasp on how to create stories, characters and worlds but I still need to improve and strengthen this which I can through learning by example; reading books and watching movies.

I have a decent understanding on a number of different art drawing programs, such as: Paint Tool Sai, FireAlpaca, Clip Studio Paint and Adobe Photoshop, but it would be to my detriment if I did not improve my skills so that I could get more proficient and faster. Understanding these softwares will also give me a good base for other softwares.

I also never completed my course in animation; I only got as far as the principles of bounce and stretch and that is something I obviously need advancement in, as well as rigorous practice in order for me to be a successful animator.

I should also study up on cinematography so that I will have a firm understanding of lighting, how to set a scene, camera movement as well as depth of field and filters, which can be critical when trying to make a storyboard, and aid me well into production.These improvements though further education and self study will allow me to to start on my career path.

By doing a SWOT analysis I can clearly and quickly see what my strengths and weaknesses are as well as threats to my development. With animator I need to be dedicated and show that I am a good worker and will devote myself in order to succeeded in such a competitive industry, however, I also know that my depression and anxiety has and is still able to effect my health and it could have an impact on my growth and therefore my pathway by holding me back as I am still in the process of getting help.

I also have a couple of learning disabilities that could hold me back in my education if spelling impacts grading. Though I am good with dealing with my dyslexia, my dyspraxia can be far more inimical to my comprehension so I have to work doubly hard to keep decent standards. This isn’t much of a problem as I never stray from effort though the consequences it can have on my time can be quite bad even if it has never been responsible for me being late to hand in.

That. however, does not mean that everything is a struggle. I am patient and am able to work through problems, difficulties and get on with my work. While I am well I keep up with deadlines and I am always able to communicate with others in a professional manner which will assist me in talking with clients, co-workers.

Leave a Reply

